The Seed

A two-minute animated voyage through nature's life cycle, following the trials and tribulations of a humble apple seed. The film was kindly funded by Adobe, made using their CS4 range of software. It was produced at Nexus Productions and features a soundtrack by Jape. It was made using a mixture of stop motion papercraft and 2D drawn animation. See making of here: -- Credits for the film are as follows: Story and direction : Johnny Kelly Production manager: Jo Bierton 2D animation: Michael Zauner 3D animation: Eoin Coughlan Paper modeler: Elin Svensson Assisted by: Anna Benner Stop frame DOP: Micolaj Jarosewicz Stop frame animation: Matthew Cooper Compositing: Alasdair Brotherston Music: Jape Sound supervisor: Mike Wyeld Foley artist: Sue Harding Executive producers: Charlotte Bavasso, Chris O’Reilly Producer: Christine Ponzevera Agency: Goodby, Silverstein & Partners Creative director: Keith Anderson Associate Creative Director: Tony Stern Associate Creative Director: Frank Aldorf Art director: Johan Arlig Copywriter: Steve Payonzeck Art director: Karishma Mehta Copywriter: Gregory Lane Interactive Producer: Stella Wong Art Buyer: Jenny Taich

'Cockatoo' (2012, short film) - A man with a broken heart tries to relive his failed relationship by hiring a young girl to play his ex-girlfriend. If only she could get the accent right. AWARDS Best Original Screenplay – Flickerfest (Australia) Best Foreign Director – Outbox International Film Festival (Lebanon) Jury Award for Best ‘Wild Side’ Short Film – Tri Media Film Festival (USA) Audience Favourite Award – DC Shorts Film Festival (USA) Silver Yowie Award for Best Short Film (Open) – Blue Mountains Film Festival (Australia) Audience Favourite Award – Blue Mountains Film Festival (Australia) Honorable Mention Award – Anchorage International Film Festival (USA) Honorable Mention Award (Comedy Fiction) – Taos Shortz Film Festival (USA) Best Film – West End Film Festival (Australia) Best Australian Film – Clare Valley Film Festival (Australia) Best Actor (Female) – Matilda Brown – Clare Valley Film Festival (Australia) For more info: Writer / Director: Matthew Jenkin Producers: Matthew Jenkin & Oliver Leimbach DOP: Chris Bland Editor: Brendon Killen Original Score: Oliver Leimbach Sound Design: Tom Lowndes Colourists: Ellena Flikier & Mick Jones Costume Designer: Elizabeth Franklin 1st AD: Peter Burge Camera Assistant: Matthew Challinor Sound Recordist: Joseph Dutaillis Production Manager: Sarah Jenkin Make Up Design: Yasmin Orr Make Up Artist: Ebony Ryan